January 20:  Diane Osborn shared photos from our LCGHS collection.
     The photo collection of the Logan County Genealogical and Historical Society will be showcased by Diane Osborn, past president of the society.  Among featured items will be Lincoln Street scenes dating back to horse and carriage and street car tracks days, an 1893 aerial photo of the City of Lincoln, a 1955 aerial view of Lincoln State School, photos of Lincoln Lakes, and other pictures and collectibles.
      Downtown Lincoln photo (left) shows the trolley tracks while viewing businesses including Boyd & Sons Dry goods and Gus Marcucci’s Confectionary at the corner of Broadway and Kickapoo Streets. This photo is one of about 200 in the framed collection of the Logan County Genealogical & Historical Society. 
     Past LCGHS President Diane Osborn pulled out some of the gems in the collection to showcase them during a meeting at the Society building, 114 N. Chicago St., this week.  Crowd favorites included an 1885 map of the City of Lincoln, Lincoln Lakes Beach photos, and a 1925 photo featuring the "Jigger Line” of the Illinois China Co. factory on North Kickapoo Street.  
  <click here for complete New HeraldNews article>
                           State School Article 2021  <-- click here

                             State School Article <-- (witnesses)

<-- click here
[In 1865 the General Assembly instructed the directors of the Illinois Institution for the Education of the Deaf and Dumb to establish an Experimental School for the Instruction and Training of Idiots and Feeble-Minded Children in the State of Illinois. The school was temporarily located in Jacksonville and after a five-year trial period the General Assembly incorporated it as the Illinois Institution for the Education of Feeble-Minded Children.]
  <-- click here for 2012 article

[Jan. 13, 2020]   LINCOLN -

The Logan County Genealogical and Historical Society officers for 2020 were sworn in at Monday’s monthly meeting. Board member Bill Donath did the honors.

LCGHS board member Bill Donath reads the oath of office from the LCGHS bylaws.

New Officers: R-L: President Diane Farmer, Vice-President Diane Osborn, Corresponding Secretary Mary Ellen Martin, and Treasurer Roseann Coers. Recording Secretary Jo Anne Marlin was absent.